The elevating experience of being published

image

When I was eight, my dad bought me an old-school typewriter to muck around on and I felt really quite professional at the whole writing thing.

When I was eight, one of my poems was published in a collection called “Celery Noise and Quiet Cheese.”

When I was eight I was going to be a writer when I grew up.

When I was eight it was all very simple.

Somewhere along the way I stopped feeling very professional at the whole writing thing. Writing, or rather, choosing writing, stopped feeling simple.

A week ago  I saw my writing in print again and a little piece of my identity felt all puffed up and happy.

I wonder whatever happened to my old typewriter…I might be needing it now that I’ve grown up and become a writer. 🙂

About Claire

I have worked as an editor, a criminal defence lawyer and a family violence lawyer in a community legal centre. Now it's all about writing, writing, writing (and my three little people at home). I want to draw on my experience working with survivors of family violence and create sensitive, big hearted fiction that (without preaching) helps to empower women and girls with the tools to reject family violence from their lives.
This entry was posted in Being published, Life changing experiences, The Big Issue, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment